Friday, February 24, 2012
California Regulations on Trucks 1996 to 1999
California Update: Specific to operators with an engine manufactured in 1996,1997,1998, or 1999. The rule is that you cannot run California unless:
1. You have upgraded your engine by adding a particulate filter (about a $7,500 cost), or
2. You have registered both yourself and your equipment with the ARB (Air Resources Board)
A. Registered vehicles can operate without modifications until January 1, 2014
B. You now have until March 30, 2012 to get the registration done
January 1, 2012 was the date listed as the start of the enforcement of this regulation, and that has not changed. There is a potential for a $1,000 per day fine for each day your unmodified equipment is in California unless you are registered. Even though California ARB has extended the registration period, they have not changed the January 1st enforcement start date.
If your engine is manufactured in any of the 4 years listed (1996, 1997, 1998, or 1999) your choices are:
1. Get registered
2. Modify your engine to the ARB standards
3. Take your chances at getting a fine by going to California
4. Choose not to go to California
Contact Phil Hinshaw at Sammons Missoula with any questions.